A Man by Nina Cassian

While fighting for his country, he lost an arm and was suddenly afraid;

From now on, I shall only be able to do things by halves.

I shall reap half a harvest.

I shall be able to play either the tune or the accompaniment on the piano,

but never both parts together.

I shall be able to bang with only one fist on doors, and worst of all

I shall only be able to half hold my love close to me.

There will be things I cannot do at all, applaud for example,

at shows where everyone applauds:

From that moment on, he set himself to do everything with twice as much enthusiasm.

And where the arm had been torn away, a wing grew.

6 Comments

  1. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of space .
    Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site.

    Studying this information So i’m happy to convey that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed.

    I so much indubitably will make certain to don?t omit this website and give it a look
    on a relentless basis.

  2. I think loosing his arm represents him losing his wife. His wife was his better half, so now he can’t to many throngs without her. :(

Leave a Reply

